Notices

I'm new to this

Old 09-22-2015, 01:35 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I'm new to this

Hi

I've finally decided I can't have alcohol in my life anymore. It's cost me a lot over the years but recently just cost me someone I really cared about. She won't even talk to me anymore and I can't say I blame her. I acted like a crazy person. What started off as a mild issue spiraled into a huge mess and I still don't understand why. I was angry and drunk and said so much I didn't mean and then would sober up and feel horrible and start drinking again to ease the pain and the cycle would continue. After driving her as far away as I could I know I have to let her go and work on me. There's no more choice left. I miss her but I'm too ashamed. Hopefully I'll be able to make amends some day.
I don't get it. I've known her for 10 years and have always been a gentleman. My behaviour shocked her. I know that's not me but I couldn't stop. The whole thing is so confusing.
Old 09-22-2015, 01:42 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR Stephen. You've come to a place with a ton of support. The good thing is you've decided to help yourself first. You can only control your actions and focusing on your sobriety will put everything else into prospective.

You can absolutely get your life back on track. What's your plan going forward?
Old 09-22-2015, 01:46 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

It is tough to let go, for now. Being sober is of utmost importance at this time. She will either come around in the future, or, she won't. You must accept either paths, but more importantly, acceptable from a sober standpoint.
Old 09-22-2015, 01:50 PM
  # 4 (permalink)