Notices

Ive never tried quitting before.

Old 08-31-2014, 09:33 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Ive never tried quitting before.

Hi! I'm Allison. I'm pretty new to this, at about 60 hours in. Day one was really emotional, day two I felt pretty okay. Instead of the absolute dread I'd felt just the day before, I was optimistic and excited for the change. Today however, I didn't so much crave drinking (except when my friends posted all their weekend debauchery pictures), but nearly everything is making me cry. I was also extremely irritable earlier going out to dinner with the family, even though they couldn't have been more supportive. Even going somewhere that alcohol isn't served. My family doesn't drink anyway, so they really can't wrap their heads around why this is so hard for me. I'm not only losing my lover (vodka) but I have zero sober friends. Which is why I'm here.

So, hello everyone!
Old 08-31-2014, 09:37 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome to Sober Recovery Allison! You will find lots of support and stories of others journeys that you will find helpful!
Old 08-31-2014, 09:44 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

Welcome, we do understand how hard this is.

You will find lots of support here.
Old 08-31-2014, 09:48 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Is taking a low dose of clonopin for a few days okay? Someone told me it would prevent seizures. When I went to rehab for pain pills, a couple of the drinkers had seizures that really terrified me.
Old 08-31-2014, 11:32 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

As Ive been reading the "what to expect" thread, I see that it is highly suggested that one medically detox. I guess I'm rather lucky as I did my full-on detox in jail a few months ago. Of course I got out, and went back to drinking. Not every day as I had before, but just binge drinking. Didnt plan on stopping either. I'd bought a half gallon and drank it in a day, then stole my mothers credit card, drove one of their vehicles, and bought more as soon as the liquor store opened that day.