Notices

I've hit a new low

Old 05-05-2014, 06:32 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I've hit a new low

I work in a lab, and while I thought I had hit rock bottom, I was obviously wrong, because yesterday I was this close to taking a bottle of 100% ethanol. The fact that I entertained the notion and put my shoes on and needed an entire 10 minutes to talk myself out is horrible. My entire journey towards recovery has been based on the idea that I'm worth more, how can a degenerate like me ever get better? I didn't drink this weekend, but somehow I still feel like a scumbag just for thinking the thoughts I did.

Stealing pure ethanol from a lab, how low can you go?
Old 05-05-2014, 06:42 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I actually think you should be proud of yourself. You didn't drink this weekend, and you didn't give into the thought to take the ethanol. We can't control our thoughts but we can control our actions and you did just that.
Old 05-05-2014, 06:43 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Canine Welfare Advocate

I remember browsing the stock room shelves for stuff that would get me high.

I had a job in the chemistry department of the university I went to. Called myself an ex-addict as I had "quit" a 12-year drug spree before enrolling in school. I was 30. But given access to various substances, the addict in me responded. That's what addiction does, Brendon. It doesn't mean you are a degenerate. But it does mean you will take extraordinary measures to feed your addiction--to whatever--and more importantly, will go to extraordinary lengths to justify doing it. Again, addiction.

Now it's time to take extraordinary measures to get better.
Old 05-05-2014, 07:00 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

But you did talk yourself out. You see there's a problem. You know it needs to be fixed.

Have you been to your Doctor and discussed that you are an alcoholic, Brendon?
Old 05-05-2014, 08:05 AM
  # 5 (permalink)