Notices

I'm going to try this again...

Old 02-24-2014, 01:35 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I'm going to try this again...

Hi all...

On Thursday I told myself I could have a couple of glasses wine...
Well, you all know the rest of the story.

So now it's another Monday and I'm starting over, again.
I made some bad choices, contacted not one, but two ex boyfriends.
Even saw one of them.

I finally found some tears about my stupidity.
When I look at my boyfriend of 2 years, who I am really smitten with, I feel so horrible. He is very good to me and told me when we first met that the only thing we couldn't work through is cheating.

Well, now I carry that guilt and if I keep this crap up, he will be done with me.

I am a full time student and have a job interview tomorrow.
I can't keep this schedule up and continue to drink.
I feel like such a fake.

So here's to another day 1.
I know I am not alone in this.
Old 02-24-2014, 01:42 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover

I hope with our support this can be your last day one.
Old 02-24-2014, 01:45 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Good for you, picking yourself and getting right back on track.

I know what you mean, I often told myself I could have a couple of glasses. The problem of course is that for folks like us, it's never just a couple of glasses. It's just the tip of long line of a couple of glasses stretching back years and years, spanning one regretful night after another. I found there was only one way to end it, and that was to end it. Forever. I had to accept that a drink or two was not an option—there are just two choices for me, non-drinker or active alcoholic.

If that sounds dire and extreme, it's actually not. One of the many surprises about recovery was that it was easier to just be done with it, once and for all, than to abstain while holding onto the idea that a couple of drinks would ever again be a possibility for me.