Notices

At the start of recovery again!

Old 02-15-2014, 12:43 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

At the start of recovery again!

Hello all, this is my first time posting on here but I have read many threads, I thought I would give this site a try as support has been what's missing from my previous attempts at sobriety. Everyone on here seems so nice and supportive I thought I may as well give it a shot!

I'm 27 and have realised I have a serious problem with alcohol for about three years, I have attempted to quit many times but have never made it past 30 days, this repeating cycle is exhausting and I am terrified that one day I will relapse and never recover.

I had to move home with my parents about a year ago after I lost my flat, my job, my girlfriend and many friends due to severe depression caused in part to alcohol abuse. I worked at a school for children with severe psychiatric disorders and the stress ended up overwhelming me. When I began to feel suicidal I went to the doctor's, he signed me off of work with stress and I ended up never returning, I couldn't face that environment again and I knew I would not be able to control my drinking. I thought moving in with my parents again and starting anew is what I needed. Part of the plan was to stop drinking as well, and over the last year I have had stints of 22, 23, 25, and 31 days sobriety but inevitably I always relapse and go on a binge. During a binge I drink around 15 cans of cider a day for up to 14 days. I've recently just sobered up from a 14 day binge after being sober for the whole of January.