Notices

I dont want to hurt anymore

Old 02-06-2014, 05:51 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I dont want to hurt anymore

Hi there,
I am a college student edging closer and closer to my graduation date. I have been suffering with substance abuse for 5 years now, I have tried to control my addiction countless times, unsuccessfully. I have been hurting, dying for a long time now. I have lost control of my life, I do not like who I have become. I want to be happy, I want relief from this pain. It is a vicious cycle:drinking to numb the pain that drinking causes. I want out. I want control.
It started my senior year of high school. Growing up with high anxiety (GAD) and ADHD I never felt like I belonged among my peers. My self esteem was non existent. I have never made friends easily or been confident in myself. I struggled with severe social anxiety in highschool, and when I discovered the temporary sense of relief and confidence drinking gave me, I was hooked.

I can not believe how lucky I am be be alive at this point. I have spent the past 4 years of college binge drinking, every weekend, to the point of blackout. During my benders I have been very destructive, Ive wrecked a car, flooded the bathtub in the second story of my apartment, causing the roof to collapse, oh and passed out with candles on, lighting my house on fire. I have also been engaged in physical fights, becoming quite violent and aggressive.