Notices

Drinking makes you creative?

Old 01-24-2014, 03:40 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Drinking makes you creative?

Hey guys. I think I made a similar thread a long while ago, but hey.

I'm a professional drummer and songwriter and, like the video below will agree, thought drinking and drugs was good for show nerves and especially for creativity. Ozzy Osbourne has been an idol of mine since the 70s, and especially now since getting sober (even though he relapsed last year, he was sober for 8 years before that and has been sober again since that relapse)

Here is some advice from him, and keep in mind the amount of crap he ingested during the 70s and 80s, (and then prescription abuse in the 90s and 00s) probably dwarfs any of our intake on here. So if he can do it, you all can

and a video from Nikki Sixx:

Old 01-24-2014, 04:36 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover

The truth was, drinking made me dull and unproductive.
Old 01-24-2014, 04:58 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I'm always personally offended when any body even implies that any of my creative work was enhanced in any way by any drug at any time.

I've done work high and drunk and never found it to be better quality in any way. Usually the quality dropped. Not always but usually.

I was painting for a while and I would often work on a painting over a month or so. Sometimes I would be under the influence and sometimes not while working on the same painting.

I had someone ask me if I could tell where, in the finished painting, I had been under the influence as opposed to the sections done when I was straight. It seemed like a really stupid and offensive question. I would never release any work of any kind that had any "section" that was different because I was under the influence or not. It's all got to be up to the same standard.
Old 01-24-2014, 08:49 PM
  # 4 (permalink)