Notices

Crushing on another AA

Old 11-14-2013, 08:03 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy Crushing on another AA

Hey everyone,
I'm new in the program--about 2.5 months sober. I am having a pretty hardcore crush on one of the men in the program and it's very distracting. I get really nervous around him at the meetings and at night I can't sleep. The feelings were there when I met him, but only intensified over the last couple of weeks. We've exchanged a couple of longer-than-normal supportive hugs and glances, which have left me wanting and curious. I love the meetings I go to, so even though he's there everyday I really don't want to go to different meetings. He has 2 years sober, but recently ended a relationship and seems quite heartbroken. My slight co-dependent nature totally wants to coddle the little bird with a broken wing, so I'm aware that's not the best situation to put myself in. I realize the last thing I need is to distract myself from the stuff I need to work on by obsessing over another--and the last thing this kind, broken hearted man needs is for some unstable newcomer to be crushing on him. I really don't know the guy aside for the meetings. We could have nothing in common. I just feel such chemistry (I know, probably because I'm actually feeling) and want to find out if there is really anything there or if I'm totally making this up in my head. I feel like if I had a couple of conversations with him, maybe I could diffuse this whole thing. He seems deep, caring, super funny, in touch with his emotions and very much a gentleman. I sincerely want to find out how he's doing and maybe at some point down the line, get some coffee with him just so I can see if my ideas about this person are real or imaginary. Am I just a normal nutty newcomer? Everyday I avoid eye contact my crush grows stronger. Hard to tell if it's intuition pushing me to approach him or just the difficulty of saying no to desire. Any thoughts?
Old 11-14-2013, 08:08 PM