Notices

Confused/Scared about getting sober

Old 07-16-2013, 07:36 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Confused/Scared about getting sober

Hi everyone,

First let me say that I am I have never done this sort of thing before although I have read a lot of other people's stories online. I am a 20 year old college student who has been drinking for a little over three years. The first time I ever drank I blacked out and have continued on the path since then. I have had a couple of bad experiences recently that have come to make me realize that maybe I have a problem with drinking. Recently I was released from the hospital, I have no idea how I got there, luckily though I was apparently cooperative with the police and didn't have any charges filed. Even though I don't drink many times per week, around one or two, I find that I am incapable of stopping from drinking until I run out of booze or pass out. For instance, I hold the record among my friends of most consecutive days blacking out. Not being 21 makes this the first option occur more often then not. Although I have been thinking of quitting for a while I typically just stop drinking for around a week to two weeks until I feel good and have a drink with my friends on a Friday which leads to inevitable binge drinking. A couple of concerns that I have with trying to quit is that all of my friends drink and basically my entire environment outside of school revolves around drinking and partying, without it I have no idea what I am going to do or where to turn in the time that I don't drink. My mother, who passed away, was an alcoholic as well I am told, which is something that makes me think I may be genetically predisposed to alcoholism. Any advice about how to go about this or support from someone who has doing something similar would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Old 07-16-2013, 10:57 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Just a Sober ******* Now