Notices

How to explain my last job resignation?

Old 04-24-2013, 04:23 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

How to explain my last job resignation?

I recently resigned from my previous job, and I have an interview lined up. Since I resigned without having another job--which I have never done before--I'm sure they'll ask my reason. Truthfully, I felt like the stresses of the jobs and the gossip were exacerbating my alcoholism, and I wanted to put my health first. Since then, I've spent a lot of time focusing on recovery, and it seems to be working.

I almost always promote 100% honesty, but in this case, I don't think a potential employer needs to know. Would "personal issues unrelated to the job" sound O.K.? I was missing work more than usual, but I was still getting everything done. My resignation was 100% voluntary.

Help, please!
Old 04-24-2013, 04:28 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

How long ago did you resign?
Old 04-24-2013, 04:29 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Two weeks ago
Old 04-24-2013, 04:32 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Keep it simple.. You resigned for health issues.. You don't need to disclose anything else.. Good luck with the new gig!!!
Old 04-24-2013, 04:32 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

I think your 'personal issues' would be fine. Frankly, 100% honesty is great, when warranted. By leaving out any 'gory details' even if they weren't 'gory', is fine. It's really none of their business especially if it has no bearing on your performance and credibility. We are all human.
I am too on the job hunt. My last job was pretty much a gamble which I accepted the offer half knowing it was going to be a recipe for disaster. My leaving was not unexpected only in the fact that it happened a few weeks sooner than expected. My answer is that "it was a mutual agreement" - which is not a lie and I have my former manager (who just got let go last week) to back me up.