Notices

codeine withdrawal

Old 01-22-2013, 12:22 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

codeine withdrawal

I'm completely new to this. I am 27 and studying biomedical sciences and have been on and off taking codeine phosphate 30mg tablets for back pain. At first it was purely for the pain and then I fell into a routine and found that I was taking them because I really liked them. By the end of a year long addiction I have decided that I don't want them anymore and wish I'd never gotten involved with them. I was on around 300 - 500 mg a day and I gave up taking them 3 days ago. I am experiencing some rather nasty withdrawal symptoms (cold sweats, insomnia, restless legs, extreme goosebumps in temperature change, crippling depression, dizziness and a supreme lack of concentration) these have steadily been getting worse since I stopped and are showing no signs of slowing. I'm getting the feeling that I could scream, but I do not want to take anymore! I have seen a varying number of details on how long these feelings will last, some say two weeks and some say up to four months. I feel utterly alone and worthless at the moment and I can't see the light at the end of the tunnel, I hope this doesn't last too long....I'm really desperate for help
Old 01-22-2013, 12:30 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Sobriety is Traditional

Hi Phil,

Welcome to SR.

There's lots of good info and support here.

Have you seen a doctor?

Have you thought about joining Narcotics Anonymous?
Old 01-22-2013, 12:38 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I'm kind of scared to speak to the doctor for fear of the stigmatism. The chances are that he/she is completely aware already considering the amounts I have been getting.
Old 01-22-2013, 12:54 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Sobriety is Traditional

Way too many people are also in your situation.

I personally recommend a detox or rehab program, followed by 90 NA meetings in 90 days. Another alternative is to drag yourself through years of half-efforts and misery.
Old 01-22-2013, 12:58 PM