Notices

New here, sort of

Old 01-04-2013, 07:15 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New here, sort of

Hi everyone,

I'm new to recovery but not to these forums. I actually spent some time a while back on the Friends and Family board, trying to figure out how to deal with my alcoholic then-boyfriend. At the time I was going through a phase of considering myself "just" a heavy drinker because I sure as hell wasn't as bad as he was!

Well now I'm sure beyond the shadow of a doubt: I am an alcoholic and have been for a long time.

Here's the Cliff's Notes version of my story: Got drunk for the first time at 13 and fell in love with it immediately. Spent the rest of my teen years binge drinking to blackouts most weekends. At 16, woke up naked in a stranger's bed. At 18, got a DUI. And all of this seemed normal to me. It was what all of my friends did.

Married a fellow heavy drinker at 20, had 3 kids, continued to binge drink to blackout often. Often nursed while drunk. Drove drunk countless times, sometimes with my kids in the car. Still never occurred to me that I really had a problem and nobody in my life ever suggested I did (and still hasn't, to this day). I was always very high functioning, and known in my (heavy drinking) circle as a great mom.

Got divorced and remarried an even heavier drinker. Husband #2 was probably an alcoholic. Had another baby at 39, and finally started to wonder if I was an alcoholic. Husband was diagnosed with a heart condition and told that if he didn't quit drinking he would die. We quit together for 3 years until I started drinking again. Then he started again. Then he died, of a sudden cardiac arrest. We were both drunk at the time.