Notices

Anyone Available to Talk?

Old 12-31-2012, 05:53 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Anyone Available to Talk?

I just need to get this out there. I feel terrible at the moment. I've been drinking too much for many years. I'm coming off drinking way too much since Christmas Eve, from waking up on Christmas hung over to continuing to drink at dinners, family gatherings, etc. Hungover on Christmas morning With my two boys. Nice huh? I used to drink and never have any regrets. Now, for about the past year or two, I am riddled with quilt, anxiety, shame and regret. Not that that stops me when I can drink again in a day or two after the feelings subside. I have to stop this terrible ride. I have to. I know the deal - AA, AVRT, etc. - I've been lurking here for months. I need to talk with my wife about what needs to be done and do it. Right now I just need some encouragement and someone to tell me I'm not the loser I feel like. I have a great job, a great wife, the best kids - everything to be thankful for, and they deserve better.
Old 12-31-2012, 05:59 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I was hungover on Christmas Morning too. My last drink was on Saturday night/early hours of Sunday and I've been sober for two days.
You can stop, it is hard work but you can do it. Posting on here was a good start as you will find support and empathy with people who have been in the same situation as yourself.
I too struggled to deal with the shame of what I'd done while blitzed and couldn't remember.
Where abouts are you from?
Old 12-31-2012, 06:00 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I was exactly the same as you and then quit 18 months ago.

My first step was to tell my wife that I had a problem with alcohol consumption...getting the issue out there was definitely good for holding me accountable to someone other than myself. Tell her everything and tell her you're going to take a 60 day break from drinking. Then do it!
Old 12-31-2012, 06:08 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Boxguy - I'm in the US - Florida to be exact.