Notices

newbie here and 23 days sober

Old 09-13-2012, 04:00 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

newbie here and 23 days sober

Hi all i finally went for it,, been drinking every other day heavily for over 12 yrs now, and 23 days ago after a liter of vodka and being so drunk i ate some out of date chicken ended up with food poisoning and more than likely the booze didn't help of course , i was so ill for an entire week i couldnt have had a drink if id wanted to which being that ill i didnt want to lol,,,

so when i finally got well i decided that even if i hadnt eaten the off chicken the amount i had drank that night played a big part in my sickness any way and that the food poisoning just dragged it out to last longer,

took my nearly 2 weeks too fully get over it with my tender tummy as well,

tho im feeling well now, i actually found i like being sober :-) , think id forgotten what it was like , 12 yrs of drunkenness and hang overs or just genuinely feeling naff,,

iv been eating healthy and drinking lots of water i have treated myself to a lemonade here and their just for the fizz of it ;-),

I would like to know what other peoples symptoms are when first stopping as really i dont feel much different except im not hung over, i still wake up looking puffy and i used to blame the drink for that, im becoming clumsy tho and no concentration also am tiered want to sleep all the time,

is this normal,, i dont suffer the shakes or anything and going without a drink is not hard as i think it was more boredom and habit for me,

iv now decided to stay off the booze for as long as______, im not putting a date on it as i worry that will make me fail, if you know what i mean, i dont want the pressure, tho i have had some family issues in the last 23 days that really would normally have had me reaching for the bottle, i have however said no to it as i want to see what changes will happen to my body and give me liver a chance to recover,