Notices

Hi

Old 09-01-2012, 10:08 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hi

Here goes...

Sorry if you have heard it all before but this is my first time at getting it all down. I am an alcoholic.

I am mid 30's. Had my first alcoholic drink at 15 at a school party. Ended up blind drunk, slept at a friends house, swore at his parents and threw up on the football field the next Saturday morning. There follows twenty years of similar stories but I am sure you can fill in the blanks from that one incident.

I refuse to look back now at what could have been, it has taken me a lot of soul searching and adjustment to gain this attitude - as I was a classic stand up rock solid guy on the outside who internally could worry sheep. The booze bounced these thoughts around my head like an echo and magnified them x 10. I have however reflected on how great it would have been if I had located an 'off' button that first time. I suspect, however, that I didnt roll off the production line with that particular feature.

So why the years of torture? Well to be honest it didn't start off that way, quite the opposite actually. The usual circumstances are there. Broken family, hated living in a Government house, interestingly my Dad is one of the worst alcoholics I know (and that is saying something) but I didnt have much to do with him until I was 16 and nothing more now.

But none of that matters, I had a great youth all things considered. Made the most of it and think back on it mostly fondly (What I can recall).