Notices

Time for serious change - New here

Old 11-11-2011, 11:12 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Time for serious change - New here

Hi all,

I'm a 34 year old married father of twin baby boys. I have been abusing alcohol and pot since I was 16 years old. Same old story on the alcohol as most, started with weekends, parties, social, then a half pint of liquor after work, then a pint after work, then it got to almost two pints throughout the day, started before work, would drink a little during lunchtime, and then a pint after work. My blackouts were every single night. I never remembered what I had for dinner the night before. Never really got hangovers, and knew I had a problem, but I was a "functioning" alcoholic. About a month before my boys were born I quit with the support of my wife, but it was just to reduce my tolerance, and my plan was to go only to social drinking beers. Well after about 40 days dry, I got a 6pk, and was back to two pints of vodka a day in a matter of 3 months. I had the shakes every morning when I woke up, and would run to the liquor store at lunch time to get my fix for the day.

Anyway, I realized I needed to quit this lifestyle once and for good. I gave up pot completely two months ago, and have no desire to pick that up again. Went through lots of nights of vivid dreams but no physical issues, but I secretly drank the whole time, hiding bottles from my wife. I wasn't very good, as she would still find them, and I would make up excuses that they were old bottles from a long time ago. I would have to plan to make sure I had enough booze stashed somewhere to feel normal before going to work.