Notices

what would you do

Old 11-05-2010, 04:09 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Question what would you do

my mom called me today and asked if i would come home for christmas for a 2 week vacation. I always went home at christmas and 2 weeks in summer. I stopped drinking this year at June 18th and went back in august for 2 weeks. The whole time she kept offering me wine until I finally caved and drunk. The good thing out of the 14 days I only drunk for 5 days, I continued after returning for 2 days and since then I am stoppe completly. I am on day 69 doing really well. I am terrified going home. The apst years when I stopped I aways started drinking when I went home, the reason is I feel so unhappy because fo past events in the family that I disagree with (I am the black sheep of my family, my brother got the money and the business written over while I was left with nothing, which is one of the reasons I originally left. oh yeah I have a PhD and a good paid job, but for her that is nothing) So I am afraid after a while to give in, I always joke there is not enough booze in the world to make me forget the pain going home inflicts in me......
Any advice? How would you handle the situation, any idea how to build up coping skills, isolate myself, build up a huge wall of defense and just let go and detach? I am scared to book that flight home.... Once I am there there is no way to go back early or disappear.....
Old 11-05-2010, 04:21 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Don't go.

Everything is telling you that it's not safe in any way for you, so don't go.

Take care of you. You deserve to be cared for.
Old 11-05-2010, 04:24 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
rode hard and put away wet

Too bad you won't be able to make that trip.

:day6
Old 11-05-2010, 04:28 PM
  # 4 (permalink)