Notices

Newbie Here

Old 08-25-2010, 10:31 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Newbie Here

Hi everyone. I found this group through a search engine.

I am looking for support and advice.

I am not an alcoholic....my boyfriend is.

We have been together over a year....a rocky one at that.

To make a long story short....I'm the enabler so I feel totally responsible for everything that has happened.

My boyfriend gets very mean and insulting when he is intoxicated. Tonight he was getting out of hand so I brought him home. He did not go into the house...he went across the street to a housing complex that some of his friends live in.===

Apparently he got mouthy and said something to someone's girlfriend and ended up getting the crap beat out of him.

Now his family is blaming everything on me even though he had a drinking problem long before me. They said none of this would have happened if he wasn't with me. He is 30 and his sister said he will not be allowed to see me anymore.

Right now I am riddled with guilt and feel so alone and disgusted with myself.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks for letting me vent.
Old 08-25-2010, 10:44 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hey there. It sounds like his family is aware of his alcoholism and they just want to blame you instead of themselves because if any of them had anything to do with his alcoholism, God Forbid! I think you should try to get him into treatment or some kind of program and if he won't go, move on. You deserve to be happy. He will seek help when he is ready. You can't help someone who doesn't want to be helped. They have to want it themselves. Hope this helps : )
Porcelina
Old 08-25-2010, 11:24 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Groovy Dancer

Fancy my main advice would be to stop feeling responsible for his actions! I know there is prob nothing I can write that will make the guilt stop, but it truly is not your fault. I drank for years and acted like an a$$ sometimes and no one could of stopped me but me.