Notices

So Tired!

Old 08-09-2010, 03:25 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

So Tired!

I am 13 days sober and I can't get over how tired I feel! I was at a bottle of wine a day for a VERY Long time. My habit was to start at 5:00 while making dinner and continue until I fell asleep. I kept a very active, high stress life. 3 kids and full time work. I've been drinking heavily for many years, so I'm sure my liver is in overdrive trying to repair itself, but I thought I would feel better by now. Any suggestions?
Old 08-09-2010, 03:32 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Snarf Snarf

Yeah, I remember being really tired my first few weeks without a drink. I suppose your liver probably is working overtime; lots of repairs to make. I found this thread in the Alcoholism forum, which led me to check out the book from the library:

http://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/...influence.html

There's a lot of stuff in there about how the body deals with drinking, and what happens to the body after you stop. I found it very helpful my first couple months in recovery.

Also, do you notice that you get tired at roughly the same time every day, or is it a constant sort of lethargy? Just wondering.
Old 08-09-2010, 03:37 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Thanks for the link. It's pretty much a constant state that I have to push through.
Old 08-09-2010, 03:38 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Administrator

Have you talked to your dr?

It's always a good idea to get checked out by your dr before you begin recovery.
Old 08-09-2010, 03:46 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Just wanted to sympathize with your tiredness. I've been sober for 2 weeks now and am still feeling very tired. Your life sounds similar to mine. I would also second Anna's suggestion about visiting your doctor. Congrats on your 13 days!!
Old 08-09-2010, 03:48 PM
  # 6 (permalink)  

I haven't seen a doctor in over 5 years. Very foolish. I actually just put it on my to do list for tomorrow! Thanks...
Old 08-09-2010, 04:03 PM
  # 7 (permalink)  
Groovy Dancer