Notices

Where to start???

Old 10-25-2009, 04:31 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Where to start???

Hi There,

I am EXTREMELY new to this and really don't know where to begin... I guess I'll start where it all began... oh please bear with me... LOL...

I started suffering with migraines at the age of 4. Doctors were always stumped as to why and so, by the age of six I was taking Tylenol w/codeine. CT scans, MRI's, brain scans... they never could find anything; eventually they said it was all based on genetics and that they would probably ease up as I grew older.

I am now in my early 30's. About two years ago they came back.... with a vengeance!!!! I even had teeth pulled in an effort to try and find a solution!!!!! More CT scans, MRI's... still nothing but a small cyst in the sinus's (not really uncommon). Here is where it all started.... *sigh*...

My family doctor started me off with Tylenol 3's for the pain. They worked SOME of time, but if a real nasty migraine wanted to appear, I ended up in the hospital every single time (about 4 a month). In an effort to alleviate some of my my pain my doctor put me on Endocet. To make a REALLY long story short here (as this has been on going now for 2 YEARS), I have successfully managed to get myself up to 120 in about 10 days. This is the average. I am not proud of this... I feel ashamed and lost.

I am just hoping to connect with a few people who might be able to understand me, as most of my family won't. I really don't know where to start.

Thank you for taking the time to read my novel!!
Migrainegirl
Old 10-25-2009, 04:36 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover

Welcome to SR! I don't have any experience with pills, I am a recovering wino. I'm sure someone will come along soon with more knowledge of pills. We have a Substance Abuse forum here where people have more experience with abuse of pain meds. Give it a look.

Substance Abuse - SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information