Notices

Decided to be sober as of today

Old 06-24-2009, 10:42 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Decided to be sober as of today

Hi everyone. My name is Todd and I'm new to SR. I've been questioning my drinking habit a lot in the last 6 months and have finally decided to do everything I can to commit to a life of sobriety. I've tried superficially to control my drinking over the past few months, but after waking up hungover this morning after a night when I lost the ability to refuse a pint it's become clear that control will not suffice. Abstinence, while a real bummer when talking about sex, is the only solution for me in regards to drinking.

As far as background information on me: I'm 26 years old. I've been drinking since about 18. I come from a family history of alcohol addiction on my mother's side and much, much harder stuff from my dad. I've never had any severe consequences from my drinking, but that's only because I've been exceedingly lucky. I can't even count the number of times I've driven home from a bar knowing full well I had no business behind the wheel. That leads to guilt and shame to accompany my headache the next morning, yada yada yada. I'm sure you're all familiar with that old tune.

So that's it. I'm glad to be here and look forward to using activity on the boards to help maintain.

~Todd
Old 06-24-2009, 10:53 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Welcome to SR Todd.

I use SR as my support. Its great
I think you'll find lots of help advice and information here
D
Old 06-24-2009, 11:02 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Forum Leader

Location: Scottsdale, AZ, one big happy dysfunctional family!
Sounds like you're in a great place Todd, welcome to SR!
Old 06-25-2009, 02:24 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
13 May 2009