Notices

Afraid to go to NA meeting-I'll be recognized!

Old 07-01-2007, 01:50 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Afraid to go to NA meeting-I'll be recognized!

Hi-
I just found this site today & I'm not sure what to do because I'm a nurse, and I work in the area of addiction recovery & I'm afraid that if I go to local NA meeting, I'll see one of our patients there! I've been an opiate addict for years, I just detoxed off Suboxone but relapsed ONE DAY later!! how weak am I? Anyways, anyone have any suggestions? I"m always afraid of losing my license & not sure what the laws are regarding treatment for healthcare workers. Thanks!
Old 07-01-2007, 02:33 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

It's called NA for a reason. Who knows, you might give someone at the meetings hope because even health care professionals have a problem.

As far as losing your licenses, I don't know. I've heard basically if you approach the employer (especially the larger companies) and admit a problem and want help, it's looked upon favorably. I know from first hand experience that if you get caught, you're fired.

I'm an alkie. But NA uses the sames 12 steps with a different basic text. I do know AA works so........
Old 07-01-2007, 03:57 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Hello & welcome, Mava! We're glad you're here.

When I attended an IOPCD course a few years ago, several other members were nurses. If I remember correctly, they were required to attend the full course of 30 days and "graduate", in order to maintain their license. I think they were also required to go to a minimum number of meetings ABOVE the 90 meetings in 90 days standard.
Old 07-01-2007, 04:00 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
everything is already ok

don't know about the laws, but I had an A-Z list of reasons why I could not attend NA 2 years ago, it gave me a life and continues to do so.

Kevin
Old 07-01-2007, 06:50 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Evolving Addict

Fear

Hi Mava,

Welcome to SR.