Notices

Worrying over potatoes

Old 03-26-2024, 08:41 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Worrying over potatoes

Please know that I’m 100 percent sober writing this.
I have a great deal of trouble sleeping. And one thing that hinders my ability to fall asleep is that I worry a lot.
Since I have been sober, I have noticed that I place an equal amount of worry on everything. I think that I ways knew this. When I was a scientist and ran my lab I would be equally worried over cloning a gene (which is something that can be very challenging) vs getting my car over to the inspection center (which is not a very difficult thing to do). I would be equally worried about both of those things.
I don’t have gray areas when it comes to worrying. It’s all very black-and-white in that. It’s all very urgent. Or so it seems.
I have discussed the potato situation with my husband. He is so patient. This is nothing new for him. He understands that I just need to talk about it and then I won’t worry I guess as much.
I don’t know very much about agriculture or how much of the United States is land is earmarked for farmers. But recently dawned on me that we must consume a lot of potatoes in this country. When you think about just potato chips, it blows my mind that we have enough potatoes to supply the potato chip manufactures with enough potatoes. When you think about potato chips, they’re ubiquitous: you can find them in a convenience store, in a hospital cafeteria, in a vending machine on your flight, in the supermarket etc. So we need a lot of potatoes just for potato chips.
Then I started thinking of frozen foods that use potatoes. Like the Oreida company. I think they only sell potato products and they have things like tater tots, crinkle cut, french fries, hashbrowns, etc. They must need a lot of potatoes.