Notices

Nightmares at least once a week

Old 12-07-2008, 02:43 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Nightmares at least once a week

I thought this stage of my life was over, but I guess not...for months now, at least once a week, I have a nightmare that wakes me up at about 3 AM on a weeknight and I can't go back to sleep. Sometimes it's just a random, disturbing/frightening nightmare, but often it'll be a flashback to a scary scene from my childhood when my dad was drunk.
I'm not very good at being aware that I'm dreaming when I dream. I can never tell when something is a dream as I'm dreaming it; otherwise I'd try to take charge and run away or get out or fight back, etc. Even though I'm an adult now and Dad hasn't been drunk in years, though, I still am shaken by these dreams and don't know how to cope or how to stop having them. Can anyone relate?
Old 12-10-2008, 04:00 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Yes I can relate. I woke up awhile back at 3:45 am (almost exactly) for nights on end. I am sorry this is happening to you. You say you reconize this as also a flashback..I don't know your specific circumstances or past trauma but I bet you are right. For me, when there is a consistency in what time I am jolted awake in the night it was my body actually reliving what happened to me as a child. It is scary and awful. Often my body and mind experienced great discomfort. I just try really hard to figure out my body is telling me and I often ask God "what is REALLY going on?". Depending on the night I either embrace the emotion and cry it out, or sometimes I get up and turn on all the lights in the house,sit infront of the tv and just try and feel safe again.
It really sucks doesn't it?

If you need help talking it through..shoot me back.
Hang in there.
Old 12-11-2008, 12:34 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I find I get spurts of nightmares periodically, I have recurring ones centred around several themes related to past traumas that come up now and again.