Why is it okay to smoke dope in place of drinking?

Old 10-19-2012, 09:51 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Simply Grateful

Why is it okay to smoke dope in place of drinking?

My husband is an alcoholic and sober for nearly 30 years. However, he smokes pot every day. If he has trouble getting some when he runs out he can be really cranky to live with. I am new to recovery (I'm an alcoholic) and he takes this superior attitude because he hasn't had a drink since forever but says it's okay to smoke dope because it's never caused a problem. This ticks me off to the max. I actually feel resentful when he has to smoke pot all the way to a family visit with his parents just so he can "deal" but I have to learn to deal without anything. I don't mean to rant. My question is just simply, is his behavior acceptable? Is it okay to smoke dope in place of drinking? Everytime I tried to throw that back at him when we would have arguments about my drinking he would say I was trying to divert the subject, yada yada.
Old 10-19-2012, 09:59 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Let go and Let God!

I have been in NA and AA for over 10 years. To me a drug is a drug. If I smoke pot I am not sober. Anything that alters my mind is me relapsing. It sounds to me that he traded one addiction for another.

Is he in AA?
Old 10-19-2012, 10:00 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Ann
Nature Girl

All he did was trade one drug for another. I don't see the pride in that.

Congratulations on your own sobriety. Let that be your focus right now.

Glad you are here.

Hugs
Old 10-19-2012, 10:07 AM
  # 4 (permalink)