Confused and sad.

Old 04-19-2009, 02:18 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
jka

Confused and sad.

Hi,
I am brand new to this. I am struggling with "not enabling" my husband. I have recently started going to Al-Anon meetings and am reading tons of literature. My husband does not think he has a drinking problem. He as a female "friend" that he continues to drink with. I drew the line last week after finding them in bars together. I know their relationship is based on drinking, but I can't live with that. I told him to leave. I still want it to work, but I have to take care of myself. I know I shouldn't contact him as that would be enabling, right? Please.... someone tell me why I shouldn't contact him. I have no intention of letting him come back right now. I want him to hit bottom.... don't know if I have the strength to allow it.

I know... but I need help.
Thank you.
Old 04-19-2009, 02:38 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome,

I am sorry for the pain you are going through.....but congratulations on standing up for yourself and your dignity.
Weekends are a bit slow but others wiser will be along soon.

I doubt there would be much good come from contacting him now.
I always end up feeling disappointed and sad and worse than whatever impelled me to contact.
Old 04-19-2009, 02:41 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
jka

Thank you. It is sooo hard. I have these moments of weakness. My head tells me one thing, but my heart another.
Old 04-19-2009, 02:51 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

yes, I know it is heartbreaking.

I am recently divorced. I care very much how my x is. But he thinks I am the enemy.

My counselor last week told me not to contact him.
Still when the VA called about a medical appmt and said they could not reach him....I sent him an email.
I was hoping for a response...a thanks and something about his health.
He did not respond.
I need to let it go!
It sure doesn't do anythiing good for my peace of mind!
Old 04-19-2009, 05:37 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  
krhea75