questioning yourself?

Old 08-25-2007, 07:19 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Ann
Nature Girl

My addict is my son, but I know that when I first hit the rooms of recovery I was a neurotic, pathetic mess. Crazy? I thought so, but then I learned that I'm not crazy, I'm codependent and there is hope for that.

What worked for me? Funny you should ask . Finding meetings, getting a sponsor and learning to work the 12 steps saved my sanity and probably my life.

Stick around, walk with us a while, recovery is contagious ya know?

Hugs
Old 08-25-2007, 01:59 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I must admit I have no experience with a spouse or signifigant other, my addict is my son. I can't help but have my son in my life, he is my son. However, I am puzzled when I read posts of the people who are dating addicts. I know from my own experience of dealing with AS's addiction for the last five years that the destruction and devastion that comes with addiction is unbelievable. Ive watched him hurt his family, friends and basicllay everyone that ever loved and cared for him physically and emotionally, Im not sure which hurts the most. I watched as hes cheated, lied. stole, hocked, been to rehab, detox, jail, on and on and on. I know without a shadow of a doubt I could kick him to the curb and never look back. I would move my family so far away he would never find us. The frustrating part for me, and Im sure him too, is the fact that it is an uncurable disease. The chance of relapse is always there, and the chance is actually very high. I just for the life of me can't understand why anyone would choose this life on a rollercoaster, if they actually had a choice. Once again, as Ive said I don't have any experience in the spousal/partner area, so I really can't say what Id do can I? You will do whats right for you when your ready, I have a sense from your post, that you may have already made some choices, you just have'nt told yourself about them yet. Prayers to you and your addict.