Boyfriend has relapsed

Old 02-07-2006, 07:59 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Boyfriend has relapsed

I'm new to this but am agonizing over my boyfriend's relapse and hoped I could get some guidance.
My boyfriend has been sober for 2 years (this past December). He's done amazing and completely changed his life by going back to college, playing organized sports and continuing to work. Over the last couple days, he complained of feeling down and I tried to talk to him but he seemed like he was just a "normal" kind of blue and said he would be okay. Just in a funk. However, he's dealt with depression for years and is on meds for it.
Last night, he stumbled into my apartment at 5:30 am and it was hard to tell at first what was up but before long it was obvious that he had been drinking. He admitted it to it before passing out. All I could do was cry till I had to get ready for work...while he slept. I thought about calling in to work but both my manager and director were out and i knew i needed to be at work, so i went. i've left a few messages and he hasn't returned my calls. i drove over to his apartment just to make sure he was there...his car is there and i'm pretty certain he's there sleeping or depressed. i don't know what to do at this point. i'm struggling with whether to tell his family (they're really close) but i want to talk with him first. i just don't know what to do.
Old 02-07-2006, 08:17 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome Mimi!

I'm sorry to hear about your bf's relapse. I know its hard. I think you should talk to him first. Try to help him work through his problem first. Maybe he didnt want to talk to you because he felt like he let you down. I dont know waht else to say but get him help and dont let his family know about it unless it continues. I dont think you need to worry them at this point, but who am I to say. Good luck and were all prayin for ya.
Old 02-07-2006, 08:24 PM
  # 3 (permalink)