Old 08-28-2004, 04:58 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Smile with me

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to this an am still trying to figure out how to set up my account with pictures and quotes, let alone post anything. As usual that's my way of distracting myself from issues that I don't want to deal with.

I lost my husband of 25 years in a fatal accident that involved alcohol 4 years ago. And the day that happened was the day I swore that I would never get involve with anyone that drank again, and then along came RG.

I have been dating RG for 3 years now and its been a very rough road ... The first year was fine, but after that its been a constant battle. All the empty promises to quit, all the verbal abuse and yelling when he does drink (which is about 5-6 days a weeks). This is not the life I want, and for some reason I can't seem to get off the roller-coaster. We fight all the time about his drinking, and its very evident that he's not going to give it up, and I'm can't change the way I feel.

I know that this is not the way it is suppose to be. My late husband treated me like gold, and this guy treats me like dirt. Several of my guy friends have all assured me that "No man" should ever treat a woman as I am being treated ... at least no real man. All my friends and family are starting to distance themselves from me; which really hurts. They all seems to get their sarcastic jabs in whenever they are in his presence ... which always seems to put me in the middle, to the point that I am starting to limit who I have over to my house when he is there. We don't live together and even though he has asked me to marry him (and for some stupid reason I said, "Yes"), I know in my heart this is a union that is never going to happen ...