Married and Scared

Old 11-13-2014, 05:15 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
llw

Married and Scared

Hello. I'm new to this... My husband is an alcoholic. He's not a physically abusive alcoholic, but he does drink when he shouldn't. He drinks Sunday mornings and has whiskey in his coffee on the drive in to work in the mornings. He drinks when I'm not home and he should be watching our 7 and 3 year old children. Tuesday he stayed home with the kids because they had the day off from school. I went to work and when I came home, he was trashed. I frustratingly dumped the bottles I could find and sent the kids upstairs to their room so we could have it out... again. He came into the kitchen and I put my hand up to stop him from coming any closer, but he fell backwards onto the floor. He got up screaming spousal abuse, packed a bag and left me... well, the kids and I. He spent the night in his office, and last night too. Today we talked he said that maybe we could work this out, i said as long as he stopped drinking, then when I went to pick him up from work, kids in tow, he was trashed. I know that relapses happen, but this feels like a slap in the face and I don't know what to do now. I just... don't know what to do.
Old 11-13-2014, 09:49 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome!
There is so much good support here. We have all been where you are. Loving an alcoholic and wanting them to stop.
I'd recommend reading everything you can, especially the posts saved up at the top of the forum.
I was struck by, "as long as he stopped drinking..." because it was so familiar. But our loved ones show us who they are and what they can offer with their actions before we ever try to set rules with them. Your husband IS an alcoholic and alcoholics drink. That's what you have to work with, unfortunately. Expecting something else is a fool's errand.

He was trashed when watching the kids. Re-read that. He was trashed when watching the kids!