Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > Friends and Family > Friends and Family of Alcoholics
Reload this Page >

Leaving elderly alco spouse who can't take care of themselves

Old 11-18-2013, 12:27 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hi, Board... I'm new to this and have questions and need support. A dear friend of mine has finally had it and he is leaving his alcoholic wife after MANY years of marriage. They are both in their 70's. She's never worked a day in her life. He worked very hard his whole life and has always provided a comfortable home for his family. At this point in time, none of their adult children will have anything to do with the mother. She threatens to destroy everything they own if he leaves her. Says she will commit suicide, too, but admits to her sister she does not have the guts to do it. After totaling their car a couple of weeks ago driving drunk and mowing down mailboxes, he finally had enough and went t a lawyer. She will be served papers tomorrow and will go absolutely crazy on him that he is divorcing her. But here's the kicker... she cannot take care of herself. She hasn't bathed in months, is too drunk and pilled out to even aim into the toilet, obviously. Won't smoke outside if the temperature is below 65 because it's "too cold for her" so closes herself in her closet and smokes. The house is filthy and trashed because of her (so they won't be able to sell it). The cops told her she was no longer allowed to drive (small town barney fife's that should have arrested her and taken her license away), I could go on and on. She won't know the first thing about paying a bill and will need to find something to rent on the cheap with the little he will be foreced by the courts to give her (pension). What do you think may happen?
Old 11-18-2013, 12:56 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
RIP Sweet Suki