Are there success stories?

Old 10-07-2009, 12:02 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Are there success stories?

I'm new to SR, and I have a serious question. Are there success stories, where those of us married to/involved with alcoholics lead happy lives with the alcoholics? I'm not talking about being good soldiers and enduring the pain, or learning detach and accept less. I'm talking about alcoholics progressing through recovery and being pleasant, contributing partners in a relationship - does this happen?

I've yet to venture into Al Anon, although I do wonder why happily married people would need a support group.

My AH of 17 years is in rehab, and I haven't seen much on line that makes me think that investing more time makes sense. He's a nice guy, doesn't inflict the junk that I read about in so many posts. He is just withering away, just like his dad before him. Not working, accepting less responsibility, making and breaking promises. You know.

I am really serious when I ask these questions, and appreciate your time in sharing your experiences, good or bad. I'm a child of two alcoholics who never quit, so I don't have a good experience to draw from.
Old 10-07-2009, 12:11 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
I Love Who I Am

Hi there. Welcome!

I am separated from and most likely divorcing my AH, but please consider this:

YOu said,
I'm not talking about being good soldiers and enduring the pain, or learning detach and accept less.
Well neither are we Sister. That's a lateral move. More of the same.

I've experienced freedom from that way of life.
Being a good soldier.
Enduring the pain. Accepting less?

Hell no. That describes my life BEFORE acceptance and detachment and focusing on myself. That describes me when I was still trying to believe his apologies. Over and over again. When I was still so focused on him that i wouldn't admit to myself that I didn't want to be married to him.