Hi, I'm a newbie.

Old 01-06-2009, 11:18 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hi, I'm a newbie.

Hello all,
I am brand new to this site, and this entire recovery life style. I am lost in my marriage and I feel like I just need to type it all out to help me organize it in my brain, as well as, hopefully get some clarification on life. So here goes...
My hubby and I have been married for 17 years. we have a 16 year old daughter. He is active duty military, I am an ER nurse that works nights. Throughout our marriage we have had several deployments and have probably spent more than half of our marriage separated from each other due to the military.
Fast forward to 6 months ago. I was cleaning when I found the vodka bottle empty. I knew that I hadn't drank it, and my husband didn't drink "hard" alcohol (or so I thought), I accused our teeanger of drinking it. She of course denied it, and the next day my husband admitted to drinking it. He told me that he would occasionally have a shot here or there to help him sleep. I told him that I was worried, with his family history of alcoholism, that he should think about not drinking anymore....
2 weeks later he mentioned to someone at work that he feels like he might be drinking too much. The military promptly evaluated him and diagnosed him as alcoholic and sent him to outpt rehab and AA. He hasn't had a drink since Sept 10th. He "graduated" from rehab in Dec, and is back at work.
Our marriage is a wreck. It wasn't that great before, but now it feels even worse. We fight constantly, he tells me that I am not supportive of his program. The only thing ever discussed in this house is sobriety and his nightly meetings.