Odd Topic

Old 11-30-2007, 09:13 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

As I've heard in the 12 steps over and over: the past is the past. LTD sums it up for me, too.
Old 11-30-2007, 10:45 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Thanks, everyone!

Thanks for all of the responses. You all make great points. I am still pretty new to this, so I am still grappling with certain things. I need to keep reminding myself that to forgive another is a gift for them from me, and they can choose to do whatever the heck they want with that gift. But ultimately, to forgive another is essential to my life and emotional wellness. I think I should tattoo a reminder on my head! I am still dealing with a lot of anger, so I certainly don't have the forgiveness thing down pat quite yet. But you're all correct...it is something I need to do, and my brother needs to do, to move on in our lives.

I guess where I was coming from is this: how is it possible to forgive someone for the immense hurt they caused you when, in essence, they just get sober and then confess sins to you and then just move on? I may be assuming too much about the other person, I realize. I know they have to deal with inner demons, shame and guilt, etc. In the case of my brother, he just wants a huge apology for the wrongs his xagf did to him. (What does he expect? What would be ‘huge’ enough?) She apologized with a shy "I'm sorry" after she confessed all the stuff over the phone, but that wasn't enough for him. He assumes that his xagf is presenting him with a 'gift' and all should be forgiven simply because she is sober and for once told the truth. But that’s how it’s SUPPOSED to be, so he can’t forgive her right now because just doing what you are supposed to do (not drink, not lie, etc.) and expecting forgiveness is a ludicrous concept to him.