Quick Intro

Old 01-15-2007, 11:27 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Generically Unavailable

Quick Intro

-Type A perfectionist dealing with girlfriend's drinking problem. Issue arose approximately a year ago and obviously getting worse

-Been together for almost 4 years

-She has spent thousands of dollars in the course of a year on booze and X. I'm a student so money is tight

-Will attend al-anon meeting this week

-My grades suffered last semester b/c of her issues

-I feel like there is no choice but to walk away

Hope to learn from all of you.
Old 01-16-2007, 02:47 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome to Sober Recovery, so glad you found this site.

As daylight gets here in each area you will get more reply's. Glad you will go to Al-anon, our programs are great, helps in every area of life.

Try reading the sticky's at the top where you started your thread, check out classic reading for list of books we have all read.

We are not to give advise or say leave or stay, that has to come from your gut or heart. I will comment that it will probably get worse, so if you can walk away it would save you lots of anger, hurts, hate, and resentments.

This is an extremely difficult disease, Please read everything you can find and keep coming back here. Again Welcome!

Others will be along to share.
Old 01-16-2007, 04:02 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
up and out

-Will attend al-anon meeting this week
Do it. Its the best think you can do for yourself or for her.

-My grades suffered last semester b/c of her issues
In Al-Anon you will learn that your grades suffered b/c of your choices, not hers as you have no control over her actions, only yours. Chances are school came second to her needs/problem.

-I feel like there is no choice but to walk away
You actually have 2 choices: 1) walk away now 2) stay and suffer