When the Alcoholic Leaves You

Old 06-14-2022, 07:50 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

When the Alcoholic Leaves You

New gal here - ex gf of ABF (as of 3 days ago). I honestly have just been sobbing reading all of these posts...especially the "What Red Flags Did You Ignore" thread. My goodness...I am not the only one who has lived through this hell.

Long story short, I've spent the last 2 years building a life, home, and blended family with a widowed, self-loathing alcoholic. I had no idea what I was getting into.

As a nurse, I can "fix" anything and anyone, or so I thought. Turns out I've NEVER experienced damage to this extent. I've never met someone who hates themselves so much that they're truly unable to care for or love anyone around them in a healthy way.

His latest drunken rampage started Friday and, from what I can see on facebook, is still going. His kids (who I've raised for 2 years and love with all my heart) are begging me to come home. In a drunken phone call last night he told me to "move back in for the kids, they love you...but I never loved you because I can't love anyone." I would do anything for those kids, but I know I cannot do it. I've got a place to stay with my son for as long as we need until I can get financially stable enough to get our own place.

I am just so disappointed in myself for allowing this for so long. I am a professional, smart, woman (although severely codependent) who's always had her sh*t together. But now here I sit in a meeting at work scouring this site for something to make me feel like it'll all be ok someday. I still can't eat, have been vomiting every time I try. Can't sleep even with medication. My brain just won't stop. I'm barely functioning. I am just destroyed.

Please tell me it gets better...
Old 06-14-2022, 08:12 AM
  # 2 (permalink)