Notices

Wife’s on other side of the world. Potential drinking time!

Old 05-02-2021, 11:59 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Wife’s on other side of the world. Potential drinking time!

I hope not, but my wife (whose family are overseas) has had to fly back to help with a sick relative. We were both planning to move there in 2023, but she’s suddenly had to move that forward by two years.

Luckily I’m a teacher now so get lots of holidays although flying anywhere right now is a massive palaver.

I feel bad for her as she had a good life here (especially now I’m not a drunk), and it’s cost her a lot to get Covid tests, flights and she even has to stay in a quarantine hotel (a nice one thankfully).

And I feel bad for me 😅 Luckily I’ve got a lot of work to do to keep me occupied.

I had to laugh as we met family and friends last weekend, and she gave away all the bottles of wine she had stashed away. She doesn’t drink, but she had them as presents or freebies, and she cooked with wine. That was a really wise move on her part. She did have a tiny bottle of limoncello in the fridge which I threw away,

So it’s going to be a lonely three months or so until I get to go over there. I’ve been sober for 28 months so it’s unlikely I’ll succumb, but new situations are always a risk for the ex-drinker. Hopefully I’ll feel a little less down over the next few weeks.

I shouldn’t be whinging too much as it’s now summer, and the U.K. is almost normal. A lot of people have had it far worse, and I can sympathise with those who’ve taken to drinking more over the last year.

Mini rant over 🙂
Old 05-02-2021, 12:17 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Congratulations Hodd, 28 months a terrific achievement.

Use the time your wife is away to solidify your sobriety, remaining sober because you choose to, for yourself alone. I know you will, just saying.