Notices

Contemplation

Old 02-29-2020, 05:31 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Contemplation

Hi... This is my first time posting in this group. I have been on the Friends and Family group on and off for the last few years. The reason why I am posting here today is that I am beginning to think I have a problem myself. The last couple of years I started to drink more often, to the point now where it is every day and around 8-10 drinks a day, sometimes more on the weekends. I have been blacking out pretty frequently- like I won't remember conversations or arguments I have had with my SO or remember episodes of a show we watched the night before. I am starting to be kind of afraid. Alcoholism runs deep in my family and I learned codependency at an early age because of it. I just never thought I would be on the other side of this disease. I know I have a problem, because I can't just have a couple of drinks. I have to drink until I am drunk. I just don't get it. I mean, I want to quit, but I am afraid of what that might mean, if that makes any sense? I didn't drink for years when my kids were little and it was never an issue for me. I started dating an alcoholic in 2012 after my divorce and I would drink with him, really get drunk with him, but it was really only on the weekends. How did you come to the realization that you had a problem?
Old 02-29-2020, 05:36 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Canine Welfare Advocate

I went to extraordinary lengths to convince myself I wasn't alcoholic, because if I wasn't an alcoholic, I didn't have to quit.

When did I realize that I had a problem? After a night of uncontrolled drinking, I awoke and in a moment of clarity, saw my drinking for what it was, and where it was headed. Once I quit, the struggle to stay quit convinced me I was an alcoholic.
Old 02-29-2020, 05:44 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

welcome to this side of the board Caretaker

Posting here is a pretty good indication that you think it's a problem...which is the main thing.