Notices

Chronic daily drinker wanting to quit...

Old 12-05-2019, 03:02 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Sobriety is an adventure.

Chronic daily drinker wanting to quit...

I've been posting on here for a few years now documenting many failed attempts to ditch the booze.

I drink daily, usually sleep till midday and then walk to the shop to buy alcohol (I darent risk driving as I feel I will forever be over the limit and I want to be safe).

My question is, as a daily heavy drinker of beer and cider, is there any safe way to quit at home without going to rehab? I can't afford it and would much rather ride it out at home if possible. I understand the dangers but has anyone managed it and if there are any tips they would be much appreciated.

Many thanks in advance!
Old 12-05-2019, 03:11 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Keep trying. I have failed a lot of times to and I am with you on trying to get better. Today was another day 1 for me. This place seems promising so far, to be honest. Everyone is pretty thoughtful and helpful.

So I guess my answer is, just keep coming here? I guess that's a place to start.
Old 12-05-2019, 03:18 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

It's always a good idea to talk to your doctor before you stop drinking because detoxing from alcohol is unpredictable and can be dangerous. Many of us have detoxed at home and it's really just basically taking care of yourself. Be sure to drink a lot of water, rest when you can and try to get a little exercise.
Old 12-05-2019, 03:29 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Administrator

I would speak to your DR, NJS. They'll be able to give you some options.

D
Old 12-06-2019, 01:24 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Thanks guys!