Notices

Feeling shocked and worried.

Old 02-07-2017, 02:37 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Feeling shocked and worried.

addictioncampuses.com/resources/addiction-campuses-blog/the-4-stages-of-alcoholism-for-the-functioning-alcoholic/

I just read this blog that really worried me, has anyone read this before?

Im really new to all this, but I honestly feel like 'Stage 4' might have been specifically written about me. The line: 'Men especially hang their hat on the fact they still go to work everyday...', that's what I ALWAYS say to myself and others to excuse my drinking. The changing appearance, the liver enzymes, the gradual neglection of family members, all that is absolutely happening in my life over the last few years.

I really have to turn this around, I had no idea I was so far gone.
Old 02-07-2017, 02:49 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi Pete

I was an all day everyday drinker and had been for several years...I still managed to turn things around.

I don't believe it's ever too late and I don't believe that anyone who signs up here is beyond help....or hope

D
Old 02-07-2017, 02:56 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Blue Belt

Pete,

Education is an amazing thing. The internet and sr saved my life as i know it.

I was in a death spiral.

Definitely pulled out now.

Bye bye booze. I don't want it in my body ever again.

It is poison. My beat up old body has gotten a renovation. It is now my temple.

Thanks.
Old 02-07-2017, 02:58 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Used to say the same thing Pete. In reality, functional alcoholic is an oxymoron. There is nothing functional about it -- it destroys you: your job performance, relationships, your mental health, your body. So it is dysfunctional in a vocational sense, a social sense, and a physiological sense.

Dee is absolutely right though. It's never too late. Alcoholism will get progressively worse over time.
Old 02-07-2017, 03:02 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Thanks Dee. I certainly hope so.