Notices

Parent is an alcoholic

Old 12-14-2016, 10:38 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Parent is an alcoholic

Hi

So I'm new to this and I'm not sure where to start.
My Mum is an alcoholic and has been since I care to remember, I have tried so many things to help her and support her but to no avail, she still hasn't admitted to having a problem but she shows all the signs of an addict, she will drink 1/2 btl to 1 btl of vodka a day.
3 weeks ago I lost my Dad to cancer, my Mum and Dad were married nearly 50yrs, along time to be with someone, we are all hurting and whilst I deal my Mums grief I can't grieve because she is drinking to much and has now taken to her bed, she refuses to see a doctor and tells me she hasn't been drinking. Whilst my Dad was alive we could at least monitor it somehow, now she has free run of the house who knows how much she will consume, it's only been 3 weeks and I'm already stressed about it, can anybody give me some advice thank you in advance
Old 12-14-2016, 10:58 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I'm very sorry for your loss and the reason you have had to ask this question. It sounds dire for her.

You can always have the emergency personnel come and check on her (ambulance, etc.)

I'm afraid you aren't going to be able to take away your mother's grief or her alcoholism.

I hope you have some support for you - can you go to an Al Anon meeting, or a Celebrate Recovery meeting or to your church or a counselor? You need care and comfort, as well.
Old 12-14-2016, 11:02 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Check out an ACA meeting (Adult Children of Alcoholics). They will be helpful to you.
Old 12-14-2016, 11:22 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Do your best

Sorry for what brings you here Daisy know your not alone & we have a great friends & family section aswell as here your guaranteed support that I can promise you

Have you heard of Al Anon before ?
Old 12-14-2016, 12:01 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover