Notices

How do you distract yourself from drinking?

Old 05-21-2016, 06:29 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

How do you distract yourself from drinking?

Hello Everyone,

I just found this website and joined it in a whim. I've been drinking every night for about 5 years now. It started with one bottle of wine a day and progressed to half a bottle of vodka for the last 2-3 years. I function OK during the day, albeit some shakes and vertigo. I recognize my problem (first step, as they say), but I am not able to get rid of it.

I got a DUI some years ago and all the meetings I had to go to just had the opposite affect on me. All we would talk in the meetings was alcohol consumption. So after the meeting was over, the first place I would go would be the liquor store. That experience prevents me from joining any AAA meetings.

My friends know about me drinking, but they accept me the way I am, which does not help me at all.

My family does not know about this. I have a brother who had issues with drugs and I cannot bring myself up and upset them even more.

So I was wondering if there are people out there who recognize the addiction and who want to get rid of it without immediate support. What do you do? How do you occupy yourself?

My daily routine is go to work, come home, start drinking. On the weekends I do the chores and then wait till it is 4pm to start drinking. I do not wake up in the morning wanting a drink, I actually like not having it. I think the boredom has to be a big part of it. I am single and live by myself.

How do you overcome the habit of doing nothing (which leads to drinking), being bored and wanting to do something, but being lazy about it?

Any advice would be much appreciated.
Old 05-21-2016, 06:38 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
NA Member - Atheist

I can't tell you how to stay clean without the support of a 12 step fellowship.

In the NA meetings I go to, we don't talk about using, we talk about recovery.
Old 05-21-2016, 06:38 PM
  # 3 (permalink)