Notices

Reality check please!

Old 07-22-2014, 08:53 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Reality check please!

I'm taking the risk and putting myself out here. I finally have had a true reality check being part of this group. I have always compared myself to what a real alcoholic looks like. A real alcoholic is the person that drinks the moment they wake up until they go to bed. They are losers without a job or a real family. They get the shakes if they don't drink. And they usually drink Vodka!! Reality check... Umm No!!! I am an alcoholic. I have a great family, I have a good job, ( I'm a teacher) shocking that a teacher could be an alcoholic!! I don't drink during the day, only after 5. And ONLY a bottle of white and a few beers. I have never been called out by others, my hubby only, but hide the evidence even he doesn't know the truth. I'm 43 and I do not go to bars or clubs, I do not make a scene. But I do drink too much wine, text, Facebook weird crap and wake up with a headache and that sinking feeling ... What did I post???Bottom line is... I feel like crap. It is very empowering to read about people just like me! I'm an addicted to booze. That's reality !!
Old 07-22-2014, 09:00 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by 21Hope View Post