Notices

Big Book Study - Step 4

Old 09-30-2010, 09:50 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Big Book Study - Step 4

"Therefore, we started upon a personal inventory. This was Step Four."

Please share your experince on your 4th Step. Please keep in mind that this is all about helping the newcomer to better understand the process of the Steps.

Thank you,

Harry
Old 09-30-2010, 03:42 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
12-Step Recovered Alkie

LMFAO...... step 4 comes up and the room goes silent - just like in real life!!!

I have to be quick but wanted to say a couple things:

Once I graduated college I had an allergy to homework, writing papers and studying......all of which this step requires.

I got ****-poor instructions on how to do it and my 1st sponsor hit my resentment list in subsequent inventories for just telling me "read the book, it's in there" - on a good note, it taught me to be very explicit and helpful with others when they're writing theirs.

I've written a LOT of inventories since.......hundreds of pages...... and no, not all of it has been in the 4-column format. Sometimes the format works best but sometimes I need more "room" to explore with the pen in my hand.

I finally decided about a year ago that it's ok if I never finish "my inventory" and I've been perpetually writing them since (and 5th stepping them)

I USED to go into deeeeeep depressions writing those darn things - shameful, mad at self cuz a lot of that stuff I still do, etc etc.... Now I use a "set aside" prayer before and after writing which makes a HUGE difference. I discover lots of new stuff because of it AND I don't walk around chock-full of self-hatred. --double win.

I still don't necessarily like writing them........but I sure as hell like the effect produced by them.
Old 10-01-2010, 10:38 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by AA BB 1st