Notices

Newcomer - My story and looking for advice

Old 04-14-2009, 02:08 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Newcomer - My story and looking for advice

Hi everyone!

My name is Jessie and I'm 18 and addicted to Tramadol. I joined these boards sometime last year but I haven't gained the courage to post until today. I want to explain how I've come to be where I am today and I will do my best to keep it short!

I was diagnosed with social anxiety disorder when I was about 13 and went through a lot of inner turmoil over it throughout my adolescence. I'm a strict perfectionist when it comes to myself. I'm not allowed to mess up in any way or I'll berate myself endlessly for it in my head. My anxiety became so severe that I dropped out of public high school and enrolled in online courses when I was 14.

Shortly after finishing my freshman year online, I had a surgery to correct my concave breast bone (called pectus excavatum - I can't post an info link because I'm a newbie!) that I was born with. I think I had a lot of self esteem issues growing up with it, not being like the other girls. It was a very painful procedure and I was prescribed oxycontin and plain oxycodone for it. While I did not abuse those prescriptions, I did make the connection that I felt A LOT less anxiety when I took those pills. I felt okay about myself for once.

I actually started abusing pills when I was about 15. I had come back in contact with a friend from middle school out of the blue. At this time I had discovered a full bottle of Vicodin that my mom had been prescribed for a toothache. My friend and I fully indulged in this new opioid world we had discovered and formed a strong bond over it. Eventually though the bottle had run out and we spent our time together doing more healthy teenage girl things.