Notices

Hola! 'nother noob here...(X-post)

Old 11-15-2005, 11:46 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hola! 'nother noob here...(X-post)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'll have to keep my intro brief, but in a nutshell, here is my deal...
I am definitely an alcoholic, and have been for 20 years, at least.
I have had *limited* success, in two brief phases, with AA...but in general, I always came to a point where I resented AA more than the chaos of drinking..I know, I have heard all of the reflexive arguments as to why that may have been (and continues to be) the case. I came to AA the first time when I was 19, through the backdoor...I was in recovery for a coke problem, and somehow got into the AA thing over the NA thing. It worked for a year and a half, after which I went to study abroad, and started drinking socially...(Interestingly, I have not touched cocaine since Christmas day, 1985...and have never desired it, or even thought about it much since then).
The drinking continued, and of course, got progressively worse. For 9 years I settled into a 8-11 drink day, every day. I would drink three or four socially, and ther rest alone. This, of course, eventually dead ended me in a relationship and work capacity, so after hitting a bottom of sorts, I tried AA again. Worked for about a year, quit going to meetings, stayed sober...till I got sick of the pathetic social scene available in my TINY town, met a girl, started drinking again, and, hey, whaddya now, hooked up for the first time since I got sober!
Anyhoo, I have been maintaining a steady 8-10 a day habit, and I am sick of it...but I am NOT interested in what AA has to offer. I am more than happy to open dialogue here as to possible alternatives, but to me, AA is just a bit too self righteous, dogmatic, and rigid for my personal tastes, and ideological bent.