Notices

very upset!!

Old 06-15-2005, 07:53 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Not all better, getting better

very upset!!

http://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/...ad.php?t=61662

This thread was posted under the "Ask the Experts" section. If this is the kind of advice the "experts" give, I think we need some new experts!! This woman is looking for help and all "the expert" gives her is the old AA line. I am not anti-AA in any way, but this woman has a medical concern and she is told to go to meetings. It sounds to me like she needs to go to a doctor and I PM'd her and told her so. Of course I'm not an expert. Here is the thread...

The Shakes
My drinking got out of hand last winter. I now start to drink in the morning to get over the shakes and hangover. What else (aside from going to the doctor) can I do to ease these tremors? I heard valerian tea might help, your opinion?

Olive -

The only suggestion I have for something that I know from experience really works is: make a decision to stop drinking, go to an AA meeting today, listen to people there & talk to someone there, get a phone number or two, call whoever it is whose number you've got, eat a good meal, go to bed, wake up, and make a pact with yourself not to pick up a drink that day, go to a meeting, and repeat the process. Of course this will only work if you really want to stop. If you don't want to stop, I'm afraid I have no advice - which in any event wouldn't be appropriate coming from this site, because it is not a medical forum. It's a recovery forum.

Good luck to you. We're pulling for you.

best,
Guy

Thanks for the advice. However, it does not help me. Sure, I quit drinking, how do I do it when my whole body shakes and I have to deal with my son's teacher? I mean a cup of coffee rattles against my teeth and my knees knock. I can't stand up without vibrating. I'm sorry to have bothered you. Will search elsewhere for an answer to making withdrawl a little easier.

Thanks again,
Olive