Notices

Antidepressants and Recovery

Old 04-28-2019, 10:16 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Antidepressants and Recovery

I quit alcohol about a year ago, but ever since I have been having trouble with my Effexor. I spent about a year basically having all the classic withdrawal symptoms even though I never changed my dose.

So my doctor and I stepped my dose down by 1/4, three weeks later, I'm still shaking, finding it difficult to move due to the lack of balance and dizziness, and I'm still tried, achy, and feeling disoriented and foggy. I don't know what to do. If I take the medicine I have terrible symptoms of withdrawal (even if I'm not changing the dose) and if I come down slowly off the medicine, I'm still have withdrawal symptoms. No matter what I do, I feel miserable and it's making it difficult to work and socialize. Has anyone had issues like this in the past?
Old 04-28-2019, 11:14 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I'm no doctor so this is not medical advice but I have read about this with Effexor and have read that many doctors will prescribe a different anti-depressant/other drugs to counteract the withdrawal, as effexor is very addictive and some struggle with coming off it.

Now this is obviously not the problem you are encountering as you are not trying to discontinue it, but the withdrawals can be quite bad for some (as is the case for you).

My personal opinion? I would ask to be referred to a psychiatrist right away. They will have more knowledge about these drugs.

There is no reason for you to continue to suffer with this.
Old 04-28-2019, 11:28 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

As Trailmix said, definitely see a dr. regarding medication because if what you are having are side effects then I would think changing meds would be good. Also blood tests to see what else might be going on.