Notices

being adult child and alcoholic

Old 02-19-2015, 02:54 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

being adult child and alcoholic

hi, im new to considering aa or maybe something else with my drinking issues. ive tried some meetings but I find aa mega triggers a lot of fear remembering my violent A father so for now feel safer online. anyone else felt that? ive gone to alanon a long time for adult child stuff but here i am wanting to stop drinking not sure if aa is for me. ive heard its not the only way but i think if i keep on drinking it might not be good for my health...
Old 02-19-2015, 03:34 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I was very uncertain and fearful of taking that step to attending AA, and struggled alone initially. Thankfully I found my way in through the doors of the fellowship, and am so grateful that I did so.

I think that people are right, it's not the ONLY way. But it is an amazing support system and fellowship, and I'm grateful every day for the fact that I gave it a chance.

The worst that will happen is that you won't like it and will then try a different route. Can I say as well, there are lots of different meetings. The groups in the city I started in were very varied, with some being smaller or larger and different ratios of men to women, and I found that I preferred some to others. I've since moved to another city and my home group here is amazing. We have an equal number of men and women (not sure if this is as unusual as I felt it was - but I'm glad of the gender balance) and older and younger people from a real mix of backgrounds. There are lots of differences, but as todays Daily Reflection reminds me, 'I am not different'.

'I'M NOT DIFFERENT