Notices

I'm new.

Old 09-05-2014, 01:29 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I'm new.

Hello everyone, I just made an account. I'm in a situation that if I don't stop drinking my husband will probably leave me. I feel hopeless and alone, and am glad I found a place to talk to other people who may understand. I've been drinking for 10 years, and I'm 26 years old. I rely on alcohol to enjoy the situation I'm in and too relax. Without it I'm a grumpy mess. I really want to change my outlook on life and be able to live my life without this crutch that makes everything worse in the end. I wish I knew how to go about changing the way I think. I'm looking forward to reading other people's posts, and trying to help. I don't feel like I have emotions anymore. I lie to myself even in order to drink. What is going on? My husband thinks I don't love him and that alcohol is more important then he is. I don't want to put him through any more of this
Old 09-05-2014, 01:34 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

hi drunkfish lol...I think you should re-post this in the "Newcomers to Recovery" thread. I am almost 2 months sober and that is where most of us newbies hang out.

Welcome, and I can attest that, for one, I know how you feel and where you are coming from and, for two, you think without the alcohol you are a grumpy mess, but it is probably your alcoholic brain that is making you a grumpy mess without it. You need to break the cycle and get the addiction out of your brain chemistry before you will realize this.

I also thought alcohol was helping me, but I now realize it was just robbing me of my time, my health and my looks.
Old 09-05-2014, 01:42 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Hello and welcome.
I'm sorry for the situation you're in and it seems like there's only one way out-to stop drinking.
Alcohol was my crutch, too. I felt I enjoyed life more when I was drinking. But then I crossed that thin line into alcoholism. And drinking took over my life.